top of page
  • Writer's pictureKat Romett, Peace Roots

Using what's in your Hand.


Life can be overwhelming... This past year has felt like a storm for many, in the literal and figural. It's often overwhelming and causes many to think, "what can I do?" Because we visualize ourselves trying to fix a whole problem, or a whole people group in a distant place, we virtually give up, before we even start, leaving us inactive in it all, and helpless....


This next piece of me, shows a vulnerable 'try' at starting to put movement to the direction of my heart... As a woman starting my own business, and a mom of two boys(one being special needs), I've felt helpless many times...


I'm starting to learn that "using what's in my hands", is a great way to look at life. We all think things need to be perfect in our own lives before we can step out into different things. We think, " I just need to have my ducks all in a row". I heard someone once say, " the only way to get your ducks in a perfect row, is if they're all dead". HA! It's never going to be perfect. It might be a little messy. It will definitely be humbling, through the process. That's all ok. It's part of it...

If we can use whatever gift, skill or story we have to cause positive change to those around us, it grows us into being change, being love, being HOPE to those who need it, in our sphere of life... I had a recent conversation with someone that encouraged me in knowing: small beginnings should never be looked down on.


On Friday, I tried my hand at a small beginning, using what was in my hands... As a reflexologist I'm learning my way through helping others in creative ways. I started #reflexologyforhurricanerelief , where reflexologists donate a slot of time, where proceeds go to those affected by the recent hurricanes. I was pleasantly surprised when my teacher hosted the first one at her practice. I also had a fellow classmate join me, who is also a practicing reflexology practitioner.


There were a small number of women who showed up, and it was such a beautiful time. Something I thought up became more than an intention, it became real life. It was a small beginning that hopefully inspires others to grow their own small beginnings to help others.

Let this encourage you to ask yourself, "what's in my hand?", leading you to start your small beginning in helping others.

 

About the Author:

Kat Romett is a Mobile Certified Reflexology Practitioner, musician, & mother of 2 boys. She, and her family currently reside in Montgomery County, PA. Through her journey with parenting a child with special needs, Kat has learned the importance of self care & holistic health. She sees the benefits reflexology has in creating peace in the body, which in turn creates peace in stress-filled environments. Kat has a special interest in working with caretakers, missionaries and women in various fields. She hopes to work on more children with special needs in the future, as she sees the benefit reflexology has in those with high anxiety and other related conditions.

48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page