top of page
  • Writer's pictureKat Romett, Peace Roots

Reflexology & Plantar Fasciitis


It's amazing how knowledge increases when experience is added to the mix. That's exactly what happened for me, when I experienced what so many of my clients have... PLANTAR FASCIITIS.

I now have a deeper compassion for those of you, coming in, needing relief from the pain, in the bottom of your feet, that Plantar Fasciitis brings. One cause of plantar fascitiis can be overstretching or strain from too much exercise, which was probably the case for me.


Although plantar fascitiis is NOT a reflex point, it's amazing how reflexology can bring relief to this painful condition. When a certified reflexologist, is able to work on your feet in a thorough and relaxing way, all the tension in those affected tendons and heel, can get some much needed relief.

I remember going in to the Dr, thinking, I tore or strained something in my foot, the pain was so bad.


When he started examining my foot, I almost asked him if he could examine it for 20 minutes more. HA. I thought it would hurt more, but getting my feet worked on, helped me with added relief.

Reflexology not only unblocks nerve impulses in the foot, but it also increases blood flow & relieves tension, which soothes overworked and pained feet.

I remember having a client come in, who served in the Iraq war. He complained of having pain in his feet constantly, when walking on hard surfaces.

Although I'm not allowed to treat, diagnose, or cure, I was not allowed to diagnose it as plantar fascitiis, but being the fact that plantar fasciitis is also known as "Policeman's Heel", from constant marching that happened back in the day when the termed was developed, i'm guessing his service on the battlefield could possibly have been an increased cause of his pained feet.

I would talk about the reflex points, and he honestly did not care about that part of the session at all. All he cared about was the fact that his feet felt better after he had a regular session with me every two weeks.

That's the beauty of reflexology, and why it is different that just a foot massage. You get the best of both worlds. Not only are your feet worked on, on a deeper level, working all the 15,000+ nerves on your feet, but it also brings relief to tired muscles, tendons & fascia as a natural by product.


Finding a reflexologist that understands relaxation techniques, as well as working compression techniques on the tops, bottoms, and sides of your feet, is also very important. Every reflexologist is different and has different styles and approaches to reflexology. Make sure to find your right fit.

 

Kat Romett is a Certified & Insured Reflexology Practitioner, musician, & mother of 2 boys. She, and her family currently reside in Montgomery County, PA. Through her journey with parenting a child with special needs, Kat has learned the importance of self care & holistic health. She sees the benefits reflexology has in creating peace in the body, which in turn creates peace in stress-filled environments. Kat has a special interest in working with women, mothers & caretakers who handle stress & anxiety on a daily basis.

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page